You are here

  • Sharebar

PPM And Independent Candidates Emerge For Nomination

PPM And Independent Candidates Emerge For Nomination
Nickolas DaCosta (25) running as an independent against Moses Kirkconnell for CBWLC.

GEORGE TOWN, Grand Cayman (CNS) -- After keeping a very tight lid on exactly who they would be fielding and where, the Progressive candidates began to emerge Wednesday morning for nomination.

The current speaker of the House, Julianna O’Connor-Connolly, was nominated for the first time as a PPM candidate for Cayman Brac East, while Moses Kirkconnell was nominated for Cayman Brac West and Little Cayman. In George Town, Roy McTaggart was nominated in GTE and Joey Hew in GTN.

Edward Chisholm was nominated in North Side, hoping to win back for the PPM the seat that was held by his late mother and former speaker, Edna Moyle. Political newcomer Maxine Bodden-Robinson was nominated in Bodden Town West, while incumbents Osbourne Bodden and Wayne Panton were nominated for BTE and Newlands respectively.

By noon, 23 independent candidates had also been officially nominated across the islands, including one of the youngest candidates to ever contest an election in the Cayman Islands. Nickolas DaCosta, who is just 25, has been nominated as an independent candidate for CBWLC, taking on Deputy Premier Moses Kirkconnell.